I did this for you guys, you’re welcome. There I was on a Friday night and I realized I had no plans and didn’t really want to go out. I had a dinner party I was making dessert for the next day, so I figured I’d stay in with some wine and make dessert. As I was wandering in the alcohol section of my local grocery store, I saw something marvelous…a cocktail pouch.

I’ve been slammed with the Arbor Mist™ commercial every time I try to watch Hulu, so I’ve seen the 30 second commercial with some gorgeous woman in a pure white kitchen (I call bullshit!) delicately pouring her Arbor Mist wine cocktail into a glass and popping a straw into it before sipping it slowly. I saw that they had a promotion where it was only $1.99 or something for a pouch, so I figured I’d try one. Then I saw a competitor in a Daiquiri flavor right next to it. I knew my Friday night was about to get awesome. I bought one of each for…ummm…market research. Yeah, that’s why I bought them.

Let’s get ready to rumble! And drink 🙂

IN THE STORE

Arbor Mist
Loved the look of the packaging much more than the Daiquiri pouch, but they were selling them individually as well as in a six pack cardboard box, similar to a six pack of beer. What the fuck? If they were trying to get men to feel more comfortable carrying it around, they failed. The pouches don’t look right in the box due to their shape – it looks awkward. What would have been better would probably have been a reusable bag with their branding on the side or even a box similar to what Popsicle sticks are placed in. The six pack grouping looked strange.

Dailys
I realize strawberry daiquiris are red, but the packaging looked outdated and “typical” for this type of drink. It’s a similar look that is on glass bottles of daiquiri sold in stores – I guess it just didn’t seem very inventive to me. I probably would have made the majority of the pouch with the daiquiri cup dominating it since they could have worked with the lines of the pouch. Or maybe put fingers curled around the pouch to emphasize that it is made to fit perfectly into your hand. Maybe with a playful straw image on the front to imply that you can rip the pouch open and stick a straw in – no glass required. See the cool ideas for a more modern looking pouch? This is gold people, gold!

AT HOME

I gleefully carried them home and read the instructions, which I really should have reviewed in the store. They needed to freeze for five and eight hours. What the fuck!? My Friday night was screwed! I was pissed when I put them into the freezer. I think that representatives from the company should push for stores to put these in the alcohol freezer section too (where the beer is), so you can literally grab it, take it home and open it without having to wait hours for the damn things to freeze.

AT HOME, PART II: AFTER FREEZING

I had to wait until my dinner party the next night to try them. They were good but after drinking both I felt a light buzz. They were fairly priced (about what a beer would cost), but if I’m going to go through the trouble, I’d like to have that nice relaxed feeling that a few beers gives you. At least they taste better than most beer. So I gave them some help and took two shots and had a nice evening with some friends. I would probably buy them again for a girl’s night in or something, but it wouldn’t convert me from my current alcohol choice (beer and raspberry Smirnoff).

*NOTE: I was not paid in any way for this review. Wish I had been though.

