Not me! I’m older than 21 and readily admit that I’m not ready to raise a child. You have to feed those things, you know.

SlipNSlide has a new best friend named JP, whose baby mama abandoned him and their son so he’s raising this kid by himself. SlipNSlide has practically moved in, helping to take care of this kid. A few months ago we saw each other at a restaurant and stopped to chat and catch up.

After telling me about how she spends every waking moment with JP’s kid, SlipNSlide said something that terrified me.

“Yeah, helping out with JP Jr. has taught me something. It taught me that I’m ready to have a kid.” SlipNSlide said eagerly.

“What the fuck are you talking about?” I asked, shocked.

“Just that, you know, I help out with this kid all of the time. I feed him, change him, play with him, watch him sleep. I love him! I can picture having one of my own.”

“Umm what’s the longest you’ve babysat JP Jr. for without having any help?”

“Maybe three hours.”

“Yeah, having a child is not like babysitting a child. You don’t get to pack up and go home, you don’t get weekends off, you don’t get to go on vacation at the last minute like I know you enjoy doing. I have good insurance, a stable well paying job and a strong family base here in Hometown and I know I’m not ready to have a kid. You don’t have any of those things! How can you expect to be ready for a kid?”

“I meant emotionally. Taking care of JP Jr. has shown me that I’m emotionally ready for a baby.”

“Dude, I don’t mean to be cruel, but every parent knows that they aren’t ready for a baby when they have one. It’s not something you can just be ready for.”

“I guess. I just really want a little boy or girl…”

Should I warn my brother to be extra careful with birth control until SlipNSlide stops talking like this?

