I joined another committee at Anonymous Software Company – the Local Community Engagement Committee (LCEC). Basically since we’re a software company we provide free technology (hardware & software) to local schools, non-profits and community centers. Fun, right? I joined and was part of the vote for our 2011 technology winner, which happened to be an elementary school.

After informing them of their good luck, the Committee showed up at the school for a tour. While walking through the Kindergartener enclosure…I mean “class”, one roly-poly kid waddled over to me and took my hand.

“Thank you!” She said with a large grin and then she took her sticky hands back to her desk. Right then, my world turned upside down. My biological clock ran up to me, slapped me across the face and kicked me in the lady parts while screaming “I WANT ONE NOW!!”. In desperation I looked around for a burly man to jump into some of the bushes with in the nearby organic garden.


“No!” my mind screamed as I realized what I was contemplating. I froze in a mixture of horror and hilarity. I don’t know if I want kids in the future, but I can say without reservation that I don’t want any now. I don’t know where the clock came from, I’m in my early 20’s not my early 30’s, but I really hope it doesn’t come back. I now avoid all children in the hope that I never have to feel that way again.

This is the stuff of nightmares.

