You know when you see something bad coming but you tell yourself that you’re just overreacting or projecting your own experiences, but then it turns out that you were right all along? Sometimes being right isn’t a good thing.

WhiskeyGirl is playing with fire and I don’t mean when she baited me about religion or when she said her job was useless, I mean with her health. Right before Lent started she shared with me that she was planning on giving up a lot of items – salt, soda, dairy, caffeine, alcohol, and all foods except some lean proteins, vegetables, fruits and various assortments of beans/legumes. I was a bit worried, but I know that her religion is important to her and she said it was only for a few weeks until Easter. She believes that Lent must be a true sacrifice. OK, I can see how she believes that, but I still worried that her extreme dietary restrictions were an indication of something darker.

I knew she had taken up running four times a week, but mixing this new diet with exercise caused a dramatic weight loss. Shortly after she started this new diet, she informed me that she had lost 3 pounds in as many days. A few days later she was up to 7 pounds. Although WhiskeyGirl is not skinny, she’s not fat either – the pounds shouldn’t have melted away so quickly. After a few more days, she started to look pale and wane, and her skin broke out terribly. She seemed lethargic and tired.

Gradually, her skin has returned to normal and she seems more energetic. I thought that maybe it was the shock of such a restricted diet that caused her earlier symptoms or perhaps she just wasn’t eating enough of the right vitamins. Down the street from Anonymous Software Company is a small yoga studio, twice a week they offer classes to employees paid for by the company. WhiskeyGirl has been going for months and proudly told me that she was finally able to touch her toes while stretching. After I congratulated her, she mentioned that she would soon be able to complete all of the poses much more accurately.

“Oh? Have you been practicing at home or did you join a gym or something?” I asked, distracted by an email.

“Nope, I bought these.” She said, tossing a small bottle onto my desk. Muscle relaxants. At my questioning look, she said, “I’ll take them before yoga class that way my muscles are loose and I can stretch more.”

“I’m not sure that’s how it works. It doesn’t sound very safe,” I mused, “Couldn’t that lead to overstretching?”

“Naw, I’ll be fine.” She said and walked back to her desk.

I was going to post this when she first told me about it, right before Ash Wednesday, but something held me back. I suspected that her diet wouldn’t be the only thing that came up as an issue so I waited to see what would happen. I was right; I guess I’m not the only one with food and exercise issues.

