I was talking to my local HR representative about yet another new scandal – some hospital refuses to hire smokers – and the legalities behind it when she mentioned Lettuce Cigarettes. Intrigued and confused, I asked her to explain.

She said her mother is a chain smoker who has tried every way available to quit and can’t seem to kick the habit. Apparently, there is a company that makes cigarettes out of lettuce which she gave to her mother. She successfully quit for a few months (until someone gave her the real thing on accident). I’m kind of picturing a piece of spinach lettuce wrapped around fake tobacco with a honeycomb filter. Sort of an organic smoke. If you want to find out more, visit their website.

I can guarantee that while I no longer smoke cigarettes, I will never smoke one make out of lettuce!

