Quick Recap: My roommate from hell had loud sex next to me while I was trying to sleep, denied that it ever happened, flashed my Granny and then set me up to take the blame while she broke school rules (link).

At this point, I was wary of anything and everything that RFH tried to do. It seemed like no matter what the situation was, I got screwed (except that time she had sex next to me, then it wasn’t me getting screwed).

The semester was finally drawing to a close. RFH had begun respecting my right to have a sex free environment while I was sleeping, it was starting to get cold during the day and finals were just around the corner. One of my classes required that we give a presentation and I have terrible stage fright. One of my friends recommended that I practice my speech in a small, enclosed area; then when I gave the speech I could pretend that I was back where I felt safe and no one was around. I figured I would give it a try, so I chose our walk-in closet. There isn’t a lot of privacy with four girls in a dorm and I let RFH know ahead of time so that she wouldn’t need to interrupt me while I was practicing.

True to my friend’s word, practicing in the closet actually helped me to feel comfortable. I focused on picturing the outfits I had hanging, so that when my actual speech came I could superimpose those mental pictures of jackets and pants over the faces of my classmates. As I quietly recited my presentation, I heard RFH enter our room. It sounded like she was talking to someone, so I tuned her out. As I finished my run-through, feeling very ready for the presentation I heard a noise. OooohhhMOAN…Not again! I was stunned. First she has sex next to me, now she has sex while I’m in the closet of our room. Questions stumbled through my mind. What should I do? I wasn’t going to practice anymore – it would just be weird talking to myself where they could hear me. Should I just walk out into our bedroom and leave? Wait until they were done? Oh no, what if they decided to cuddle afterwards? And who was this mystery guy having sex with RFH?

I didn’t have my phone with me, so there was no way to try to get help. I hunkered down and tried to figure out my next move. Suddenly, I heard a loud knock on the front door. I thought I was saved until I realized that RFH and the mystery man weren’t stopping to answer. She had to know that I was in the closet; up until a few minutes before I was speaking out loud! That’s when I realized that if she was aware of my presence and felt that I didn’t matter enough to stop her, me walking through the bedroom probably wouldn’t make much a difference anyway. Plus, if she yelled I could claim that I needed to answer the door (at that point I was still trying to avoid confrontation, and it didn’t even occur to me that if she yelled I had the right to yell back that she was being rude by forcing me to listen to her having sex. Hindsight is 20-20).

Luckily, the person at the door started pounding on it and I could hear RFH and mystery man stopping. My beloved roomies, Smiley and Badonk had gone grocery shopping and had knocked on the door because their hands were full of grocery bags. In that moment I felt so grateful for their good timing that I simply took the opportunity to leave and rushed out to the living room after RFH answered the door. There are times in life where you look back and wish you had said something, objected to someone’s actions but at the time you didn’t have the courage. This was one of those times. I never confronted her, never told her how wildly inappropriate that was and how uncomfortable it made me. Trust me, I learned to say that later (but that’s a story for a different Throwback Thursday!).

I was slightly ashamed of myself for not saying anything and for allowing her to make me feel so uncomfortable in my own bedroom. Right then and there I vowed that it would be the last time she got away with something like that. Next time I would give her an earful she would never forget…

