I’m one of those people who writes everything down. I have lists for my lists.

At work I have a little notebook where I keep track of all of my long term projects and happily cross things off. If I were smarter, I’d probably be able to sell it to an art gallery and call it: “Mind of an Anal Retentive Worker“. I keep old scratch paper around to write notes to myself that usually don’t make any sense or they’re crammed in tiny print in a margin that requires a magnifying glass just to decipher it.

But scrawled across every page are layouts of houses I wish I could create.

When I was younger, I was obsessed with architecture. I have no education in it, but I know what I like and have even designed my dream house (it’s amateur work, but I love it). I enjoy being driven around so that I can stare at all of the houses as we pass by.

I’d love to be able to design homes, but there are a number of things that I’m just not any good at that hold me back:

I can’t draw to save my life, especially straight lines.

I have no concept of measurements. None.

Physics was the class I received my worst grade in. EVER. C+ 😦

When I was in Jr. High, the youth leader at my church let me play on his computer. He had “The Sims” which is a computer game containing a neighborhood where you can build houses or stores and you create families and control their lives. Over the years I’ve become completely obsessed with it.

The Sims lets me build to my heart’s content, reproduce my favorite houses and revel in this one thing that I adore. It’s a ridiculously addictive game. If you’ve never played it, you SHOULD!

